Cognitive Function in Postmenopausal Women With Breast Cancer Receiving Hormone Therapy on Clinical Trial IBCSG-1-98
Investigating Cognitive Function for Patients Participating in the BIG Trial 1-98 in Select Centers
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
interventional
135
6 countries
12
Study Start
April 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
May 2008
Actual (reported)Study Completion
May 2009
Actual (reported)RATIONALE: Studying cognitive function, such as thinking, attention, concentration, and memory, in postmenopausal women receiving hormone therapy for breast cancer may help improve quality of life and the ability to plan treatment for cancer. PURPOSE: This phase III trial is studying cognitive function in postmenopausal women with breast cancer receiving hormone therapy on clinical trial IBCSG-1-98.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
May 2009
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
April 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
June 22, 2006
Actual (reported)June 23, 2006
Actual (reported)May 2008
Actual (reported)May 2009
Actual (reported)Objective cognitive function as measured by the CogState battery
6 years after randomization
Subjective cognitive function as measured by the Cognitive Failures Questionnaire (CFQ)
6 years after randomization
Psychological distress as measured by the General Health Questionnaire (GHQ)
6 years after randomization
Patients treated with tamoxifen for 5 years after randomization.
Patients treated with letrozole for 5 years after randomization.
Cognitive function will be assessed using the CogState battery and the Cognitive Failures Questionnaire.
Contact the study team to discuss eligibility requirements. They can help determine if this study is right for you.
Institute of Oncology at Prince of Wales Hospital
Randwick, New South Wales, 2031, Australia
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre
East Melbourne, Victoria, 3002, Australia
St. Vincent's Hospital - Melbourne
Fitzroy, Victoria, 3065, Australia
Cabrini Hospital
Malvern, Victoria, 3144, Australia
Institut Jules Bordet
Brussels, 1000, Belgium
European Institute of Oncology
Milan, 20141, Italy
Auckland City Hospital
Auckland, 1, New Zealand
Kelly-Anne Phillips
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia
Juerg Bernhard, PhD
ETOP IBCSG Partners Foundation
135 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
June 22, 2006
First Posted
June 23, 2006
Study Start
April 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Fatigue as measured by the Brief Fatigue Inventory (BFI)
6 years after randomization
Quality of life as measured by the IBCSG QL Core Form
6 years after randomization
Patients treated with tamoxifen for 2 years and afterwards with letrozole for 3 years.
Patients treated with letrozole for 2 years and afterwards with tamoxifen for 3 years.
Fatigue will be evaluated using the Brief Fatigue Inventory.
Psychologic distress will be evaluated using the General Health Questionnaire after cognitive testing.
Quality of life will be assessed using global linear analogue self-assessment (LASA) indicators for physical well-being, mood, coping effort (PACIS), perceived social support and subjective health estimation.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Universitaetsspital-Basel
Basel, CH-4031, Switzerland
Oncology Institute of Southern Switzerland
Bellinzona, CH-6500, Switzerland
International Breast Cancer Study Group
Bern, CH-3008, Switzerland
Kantonsspital - St. Gallen
Sankt Gallen, CH-9007, Switzerland
Ninewells Hospital
Dundee, Scotland, DD1 9SY, United Kingdom
Primary Completion
May 2008
Actual (reported)Study Completion
May 2009
Actual (reported)Last Updated
July 27, 2012
Record last verified: 2012-07
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: