Reading Preoperatively to Reduce Anxiety in Day Surgery
A Randomized Trial Of Reading Preoperatively To Day Surgery Children To Reduce Anxiety and Pain
A Randomized Trial Of Reading Preoperatively To Day Surgery Children To Reduce Anxiety and Pain
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
interventional
200
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
June 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
June 2005
Actual (reported)Study Completion
April 2006
Actual (reported)This study is designed to implement the reading of age appropriate books by a trained reader into the waiting area of a pediatric day surgery unit to determine if it is effective at reducing the anxiety and pain levels of parents and children by providing a safe and calming activity for the child. This is a single-centre trial based at the IWK Health Centre. The primary outcome will be based on the anxiety and pain scores of the research participants.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
April 2006
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
June 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
June 2005
Actual (reported)April 2006
Actual (reported)June 15, 2006
Actual (reported)June 20, 2006
Actual (reported)Kuttner's face scale of anxiety for children
pre & post surgery
Speilberger's State-Trait Anxiety Inventory (STAI) for the adults.
pre & post
Conners' Parent Rating Scale - Revised - Hyperactive and Anxiety scores
pre
Data from Semi-Structured Qualitative Parental Interviews
post surgery
50% randomized to receive treatment: reading pre-operatively
50% randomized to receive no intervention pre-operatively: no reading
Reading of children's story/picture books preoperatively
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Patrick J. McGrath, PhD.
IWK Health Centre
200 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
June 15, 2006
First Posted
June 20, 2006
Study Start
June 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
June 2005
Actual (reported)Study Completion
April 2006
Actual (reported)Last Updated
June 16, 2015
Record last verified: 2015-06
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: