Study of NGX-4010 for the Treatment of Painful HIV-Associated Neuropathy
A Multicenter Randomized, Double-Blind, Controlled Study of NGX-4010 for the Treatment of Painful HIV-Associated Neuropathy
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
494
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
June 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 2007
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 2007
Actual (reported)The purpose of the study was to assess the efficacy and safety of NGX-4010 applied for 30 or 60 minutes for the treatment of painful HIV-associated neuropathy.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 2007
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
May 2, 2006
Actual (reported)May 4, 2006
Actual (reported)June 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
December 2007
Actual (reported)December 2007
Actual (reported)June 14, 2011
Actual (reported)The Primary Measure of Efficacy Was the Percent Change in the "Average Pain for the Past 24 Hours" Numeric Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) Score From Baseline During Weeks 2 to 12.
Efficacy was assessed by daily Numeric Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) capturing "average pain for the past 24 hours" for painful HIV-associated neuropathy area(s) at approximately 9 PM every evening throughout the 12-week study period. The NPRS is an 11-point scale (0 to 10) with 0 indicating no pain and 10 indicating the worst possible pain.
Weeks 2-12
Absolute Change in the Mean "Average Pain for the Past 24 Hours" Numeric Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) Score From Baseline During Weeks 2 to 12.
Weeks 2-12.
Proportion of Subjects Reaching 30% Decrease in Their Mean "Average Pain for the Past 24 Hours" Numeric Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) Score From Baseline During Weeks 2 to 12
Up to 4 NGX-4010 patches of 280 cm\^2 each were applied to the feet (2 per foot) for 60 minutes.
Up to 4 control patches of 280 cm\^2 each were applied to the feet (2 per foot) for 60 minutes.
Brown S, Simpson DM, Moyle G, Brew BJ, Schifitto G, Larbalestier N, Orkin C, Fisher M, Vanhove GF, Tobias JK. NGX-4010, a capsaicin 8% patch, for the treatment of painful HIV-associated distal sensory polyneuropathy: integrated analysis of two phase III, randomized, controlled trials. AIDS Res Ther. 2013 Jan 28;10(1):5. doi: 10.1186/1742-6405-10-5.
Clifford DB, Simpson DM, Brown S, Moyle G, Brew BJ, Conway B, Tobias JK, Vanhove GF; NGX-4010 C119 Study Group. A randomized, double-blind, controlled study of NGX-4010, a capsaicin 8% dermal patch, for the treatment of painful HIV-associated distal sensory polyneuropathy. J Acquir Immune Defic Syndr. 2012 Feb 1;59(2):126-33. doi: 10.1097/QAI.0b013e31823e31f7.
Differences between the 60- and 30-minute Control groups prevented pooling according to prespecified criteria resulting in treatment comparisons between 60- and 30-minute NGX-4010 groups and their respective Control groups with relatively low power.
Trudy F Vanhove, MD
NeurogesX
494 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
May 2, 2006
First Posted
May 4, 2006
Study Start
June 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
A Study to Evaluate Efficacy and Safety of a Single Application of Capsaicin 8%Transdermal Delivery System Compared to Placebo in Reducing Pain Intensity in Subjects With Painful Diabetic Peripheral Neuropathy (PDPN)
Weeks 2-12
Up to 4 NGX-4010 patches of 280 cm\^2 each were applied to the feet (2 per foot) for 30 minutes.
Up to 4 control patches of 280 cm\^2 each were applied to the feet (2 per foot) for 30 minutes.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
December 2007
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 2007
Actual (reported)Last Updated
June 14, 2011
Results First Posted
June 14, 2011
Record last verified: 2011-05
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: