Antibiotics for Postpartum Third and Fourth Degree Perineal Tear Repairs
A Randomized Controlled Trial of the Effect of Prophylactic Antibiotics on the Infection Rate in Postpartum Third and Fourth Degree Perineal Tear Repairs
A Randomized Controlled Trial of the Effect of Prophylactic Antibiotics on the Infection Rate in Postpartum Third and Fourth Degree Perineal Tear Repairs
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
147
1 country
2
Study Start
September 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
June 2006
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2008
Actual (reported)This study is undertaken to find out whether prophylactic antibiotics can decrease the infection rate in third and fourth degree perineal tear repairs done in the immediate postpartum period.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
June 2008
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
September 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
September 13, 2005
Actual (reported)September 16, 2005
Actual (reported)June 2006
Actual (reported)June 2008
Actual (reported)No perineal breakdown or infection
Six weeks post partum
Cefotetan or Cefoxitin, 1 g intravenously, or Clindamycin, 900 mg intravenously. Normal Saline, 100 ml intravenously for placebo arm.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Santa Clara Valley Medical Center
San Jose, California, United States
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, California, 94305, United States
Duggal N, Mercado C, Daniels K, Bujor A, Caughey AB, El-Sayed YY. Antibiotic prophylaxis for prevention of postpartum perineal wound complications: a randomized controlled trial. Obstet Gynecol. 2008 Jun;111(6):1268-73. doi: 10.1097/AOG.0b013e31816de8ad.
Yasser Yehia El-Sayed
Stanford University
147 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
September 13, 2005
First Posted
September 16, 2005
Study Start
September 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
June 2006
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2008
Actual (reported)Last Updated
June 15, 2011
Record last verified: 2011-06
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: