Sponsor study identifier
interventional
395
2 countries
23
Study Start
July 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
February 2004
Actual (reported)Study Completion
February 2004
Actual (reported)Matrix metalloproteinases (MMPs) have been implicated in the cartilage degradation. PG-530742 inhibits some MMPs, potentially limiting cartilage degradation and disease progression. This study will test the efficacy and safety of PG-530742 in the treatment of mild to moderate knee osteoarthritis.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
February 2004
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
July 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
July 16, 2002
Actual (reported)July 17, 2002
Actual (reported)February 2004
Actual (reported)February 2004
Actual (reported)November 8, 2011
Actual (reported)Change in Minimum Joint Space Width in the Medial Compartment of the Tibiofemoral Joint of the Signal Knee After 1 Year of Treatment
The structural primary efficacy endpoint is the 1-year change from baseline in minimum joint space width (JSW) in the medial compartment of the tibiofemoral joint of the signal knee, as measured by microfocal knee radiographs obtained in the semi-flexed position.
baseline and 12 months
Change in Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) Total Score at 1 Year
The symptomatic primary efficacy endpoint is the change in total WOMAC scores after 1 year of treatment. The WOMAC consists of 24 items divided into 3 subscales: Pain (5 items), Stiffness (2 items), Physical Function (17 items). The WOMAC uses descriptors for all items: none, mild moderate, severe, and extreme (corresponding to an ordinal scale of 0-4.) Scores are summed for items in each subscale, with possible ranges as follows: pain=0-20, stiffness=0-8, physical function=0-68. The total WOMAC score is created by summing the items for all three subscales (min=0, max=96)
baseline and 12 months
Placebo tablet
25 mg PG-530742
50 mg PG-530742
One 25 mg PG-530742 tablet, twice daily for for one year
One placebo tablet, twice daily for for one year
Rehabilitation Hospital, Gizella telep
Visegrád, Gizella Telep, 2026, Hungary
Petz A. Country Hospital, Department of Rheumatology, Hid utca 2.
Győr, Hid Utica 2, 9025, Hungary
National Institute of Rheumatology and Physiotherapy, Dept. of Rheumatology and Immunology, Frankel Leo u. 38-40
Budapest, 1027, Hungary
National Institute of Rheumatology and Physiotherapy, Dept. of Rheumatology I and Metabolic Osteology, Frankel Leo u. 38-40
Budapest, 1027, Hungary
National Institute of Rheumatology and Physiotherapy, Dept. of Rheumatology IV., Frankel Leo u. 38-40
Budapest, 1027, Hungary
Orthopedic Clinic, Karolina ut 17
Budapest, 1113, Hungary
Krzeski P, Buckland-Wright C, Balint G, Cline GA, Stoner K, Lyon R, Beary J, Aronstein WS, Spector TD. Development of musculoskeletal toxicity without clear benefit after administration of PG-116800, a matrix metalloproteinase inhibitor, to patients with knee osteoarthritis: a randomized, 12-month, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Arthritis Res Ther. 2007;9(5):R109. doi: 10.1186/ar2315.
John Beary, MD
Procter and Gamble
395 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
July 16, 2002
First Posted
July 17, 2002
Study Start
July 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
100 mg PG-530742
200 mg PG-530742
One 50 mg PG-530742 tablet, twice daily for for one year
100 mg PG-530742 tablet, twice a day for one year
200 mg PG-530742 tablet, twice a day for one year
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Szent Ferenc Hospital, Department of Rheumatology, Csabai Kapu 42.
Miskolc, 3529, Hungary
95 Stanwell Road
Ashford, Middlesex, TW15 3EA, United Kingdom
Royal National Orthapaedic Hsopital, Brackley Hill
Stanmore, Middlesex, HA 7 4LP, United Kingdom
St Thomas Hospital, Lambeth Place Road
London, Se17eh, United Kingdom
The Crouch Oak Practice, 45 Station Road, Addlestone
Addlestone, Surrey, KT15 2BH, United Kingdom
The Medical Centre, Kingston Avenue
East Horsley, Surrey, KT24 6QT, United Kingdom
Bridge House Medical Centre, Scholars Lane
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, CV37 6HE, United Kingdom
Pound Hill Surgery, 1 Crawley Lane, Pound Hill
Crawley, West Sussex, RH10 7DX, United Kingdom
Dept of Rheumatology Selly Oak Hospital, Raddleburn Road, Selly Oak
Birmingham, B29 6JD, United Kingdom
Synexus Birmingham Clinical Research Centre, Birmingham Research Park
Edgbaston, B15 2SQ, United Kingdom
Grosvenor Medical Centre Clinical Trials Unit, 18 upper Grosvenor Road, Tunbridge Wells
Kent, TN 1 2DX, United Kingdom
Dept of Rheumatology Whipps Cross University Hospital, Whipps Cross Road
London, E11 1NR, United Kingdom
Dept of Rheumatology Dulwich Hospital, East Dulwich
London, SE22 8PT, United Kingdom
Rheumatology Department, Fourth Floor, Thomas Guy House, St Guy's House
London Bridge, SE1 9RT, United Kingdom
Synexus Reading Clinical Research Centre, Whiteley Glebe, 11 Glebe Road, off Christchurch Gardens
Reading, RG2 7AG, United Kingdom
Hildenborough Medical Group, Trenchwood Surgery, 264 Shipbourne Road
Tonbridge, TN10 3ET, United Kingdom
Synexus Wrightington, Wrightington Hospital, Hall Lane, Awpley Bridge
Wigan, WN6 9EW, United Kingdom
Primary Completion
February 2004
Actual (reported)Study Completion
February 2004
Actual (reported)Last Updated
November 8, 2011
Results First Posted
November 8, 2011
Record last verified: 2011-11
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: